We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Jukebox Buddha

by Dr. Quandary



Jukebox Buddha is an anachronism — a weathered & time-worn record from the not-too-distant future, discovered buried in the long-forgotten ruins of the ancient past.

Exhibiting his signature blend of dusty drums & moody psychedelia, this is the first official, non-compilation album from Dr. Quandary since 2011's "Sigils". It's also the first of his solo projects to feature friends & long-time collaborators, with appearances by Has-Lo, Elder Orange, Louis Mackey (No Humans Allowed), Astrid Engberg, PremRock (Wrecking Crew), Zilla Rocca (Wrecking Crew, Three Dollar Pistol Music), Godforbid (That Handsome Devil, FDR) & TIMESCANNER (The Infinite Now Podcast).

"The perfect encounter between what moves the neck and frees the spirit. The instrumental work of Dr. Quandary is sublimated by a rich panel of voices [and] pens." — Le Gros Tas de Zik

"Dr. Quandary had never attempted an album like this before, but you wouldn’t know it from the way he pulled it off. He clearly had a vision for what he wanted to accomplish with this project, and he ended up delivering one of the most unique releases of the year." — Scratched Vinyl


released October 27, 2017

All tracks produced, arranged & mixed by Dr. Quandary (K. Tierce)
String arrangements on “Into the Dirt” by M. Scott & H. Sommerlad

Additional guitars on “The Blown Fuse” by Emitt Tierce
Additional bass & guitar on “The Boy Who Went to War” & “Into the Dirt” by Elder Orange
Violins on “Into the Dirt” by Heather Sommerlad

Mastered by Paul Gold at Salt Mastering, Brooklyn, NY ⁂ saltmastering.com
Original artwork by Federico Piatti ⁂ fpiatti.com
Layout & design by Memetic Supply Co. ⁂ covers.tierceworks.com

Lyrics & Vocals:
Narration on “Bones & Portents” written & performed by TIMESCANNER (R. Penner)
“The Boy Who Went to War” written & performed by PremRock (M. Dubuque) & Elder Orange (M. Scott)
“Court of the Monkey Prince” written & performed by Louis Mackey (M. Raso), with additional lyrics & vocals by Dr. Quandary (K. Tierce)
“Black Tar” written & performed by Has-Lo (A. Sabreen) & PremRock (M. Dubuque)
“Your Gods & Mine” written & performed by Zilla Rocca (S. Zales)
“The Blown Fuse” written & performed by Has-Lo (A. Sabreen)
“Jukebox Buddha” written & performed by Godforbid (C. Oppel) & Louis Mackey (M. Raso)
“Can’t Go On Without You” written & performed by Astrid Engberg
“Into the Dirt” written & performed by Elder Orange (M. Scott) & Has-Lo (A. Sabreen)


all rights reserved



Dr. Quandary Massachusetts

Kyle Tierce ✧ he/they

beatmaker / music upcycler / soundtrack counterfeiter

portrait illustration by Jessica Hayworth

contact / help

Contact Dr. Quandary

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account